

Minutes

Annual General Meeting

July 23, 2023

Attendance: See attached list

Staff in Attendance: Carter Dorscht, Corinne Wilkerson, John Spry, Sarah Jones, Amy

Carlson

Welcome: Richard Warren, President: Dick welcomed everyone to our AGM and began the meeting with a land acknowledgement of Indigenous peoples.

Dick highlighted the achievements over the past year, including a wealth of activities and the acquisition of a new boat, the TKC Heron, and recognized the important role that volunteers play in the success of the organization. He noted that the introduction of Zoom meetings allowed board members to be more engaged throughout the year. He thanked Sarah Vincenzo, who is leaving the board. A founding member of the TKC, Sarah was chair of the Policy Committee and produced many publications, including the annual reports. Dick also acknowledged John Hollingsworth, chair of the Land Securement Committee, who is leaving the board after ten years.

Dick recognized the late David Hofmann, a former board member and member of the Legacy Circle, for his generous gifts to TKC.

Minutes of the July 24, 2022 meeting:

Motion: That the minutes of the July 24, 2022 Annual General Meeting be accepted as presented.

Moved by: Deke Welles 2nd By: Alice Hill Motion Carried

Treasurer's Report: Tom Dalton highlighted the financial information contained in the Annual Report (available on-line and distributed at the meeting). He thanked members for their donations and emphasized the need for continued support to cover staff salaries and ongoing operational expenses.

Motion: To retain Priddle-Luck Professional Corporation for audit next fiscal year.

Moved by: Betsy Kingery 2nd By: Alden Meyer Motion Carried

Nominating Committee Report: Susan Lang filled in for Terry Haight.

She introduced the proposed Slate of Directors for this year. List attached.

Motion: To elect the list of board members as proposed by the Nominating

Committee.

Moved By: Susan Lang 2nd By: Tom Dalton Motion Carried

Development Committee Report: Alden Meyer reviewed the highlights from the past year, including the raising of stewardship funds for the Gravel Point Preserve and thanked Betsy and Bill Kingery for their leadership on the project. He noted that membership is growing and that the goal was met for the annual fundraising campaign. Alden also outlined the importance of the Legacy Circle and noted some of the things that TCK has been able to do with legacy gifts. He also acknowledged the important role of development committee members and staff in fundraising and grant proposals.

Executive Director's Report: Carter Dorscht thanked members, donors, board members and volunteers for their support and introduced TKC staff members.

Amy Carlson provided updates on the bat monitoring program.

Corinne Wilkerson highlighted some of the activities from the past year, including wildlife monitoring programs in partnership with Sault College, Algoma University, the Invasive Species Centre and a number of other organizations, as well as summer programs, guided hikes and paddles and the webinar series.

Carter expressed his appreciation for the staff. He highlighted TKC's involvement in an OLTA working group focused on community engagement and a partnership with the Invasive Species, RAIN and the Central Algoma Freshwater Coalition to create Lake Huron North, a network of organizations working to improve water quality in the St. Mary's River and North Channel.

Land Securement Committee: Carter filled in for John Hollingsworth.

He thanked John for his leadership and the Kingerys for their role in the creation of the Gravel Point Preserve. He also announced that Bowen Island is being donated to TKC by the Meyer family. A fundraising campaign has already raised most of the stewardship funds that will be needed for this property.

Carter also spoke about TKC's role in the federal government's goal to protect 30% of Canada's lands by 2030 and the province's Great Lakes Heritage Coast initiative.

Alice Hill congratulated Carter for being recognized as an exceptional young professional and winning an Algoma Visionary Award presented by the Strive Young Professionals Group.

Motion: To adjourn

Moved By: Alden Meyer 2nd By: Tom Dalton Motion Carried

Meeting Adjourned.

Attachment #1

AGM Attendance

Richard Warren Ann Moore

Alice Hill Chuck McKay

Jim Hill Jill McKay

Kathleen McFadden Dave Moule

David Euler Besty Kingery

Susan Lang Bill Kingery

Laurie Greenhough Ron Wetteroth

Jamie Greenhough Hunter Welles

Alex Bell Ashleigh Snell

Brady Irwin Hope Welles

Marty Swift Deke Welles

Willis Swift Laurie Ellis Bruckmann

Sarah Vincenzo Alden Meyer

Keith Swift Carter Dorscht - staff

Sally Cohen Corinne Wilkerson - staff

Tom Dalton Amy Carlson - staff

Kathy Smith John Spry - staff

Peter Welles Sarah Jones - staff

Attachment #2

Proposed Slate of Directors ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING July 23, 2023

UP FOR ELECTION FOR A THREE-YEAR TERM

Jane Karhi

Brady Irwin

Bess Celio

Tom Dalton

Libby Haight O'Connell

Susan Lang

Phil Murray

COMPLETED YEAR ONE OF THREE-YEAR TERM Kathleen McFadden Richard Warren

COMPLETED YEAR TWO OF THREE-YEAR TERM

Terry Haight
Nancy Schrank
Hope Welles
Alden Meyer